I hab a co.. oh, you get the idea
Oct. 10th, 2004 02:07 pmWhen I went in to the doc to find out I had strep throat, he asked me if I had any other symptoms like sneezing or runny nose. I said "No, not really." To which he replied, ominously, "Yet."
So... yeah. You know, I'm ready for this to be over. I really am. The coughing was more or less done and the throat was finally feeling something like better! Now I can't breathe through my nose and I don't have any chapstick handy. Also cold medicine doesn't seem to be working. Grumble grumble.
I shall now proceed to be the Amazing Non-Sequitur Girl by talking about Real Me, which I watched with the folks last night. I liked the ep when it first aired, which I know puts me in a minority because there were many who jumped on the we-hate-ScrappyDawn bandwagon long before s6 gave even the Dali Lama reason to say that the character bugged the shit out of him, but I think it's the rewatching that really makes the ep shine. I love the blatent and yet at the same time subtle themes going on there. How everyone around Buffy keeps trying to protect Dawn, either with Joyce's overprotective parenting or Riley and the Scoobs trying to get Buffy to back off and cut Dawn some slack. And then Buffy herself who is tearing her hair out and basically doing the classic big sister stance of wishing the younger sibling had never been born, something which is especially poignant when you consider what happens in the end. It's like you're watching the last gasps of Buffy's Slayer self trying to grab hold of her own survival, but in the end it's no use.
I should watch the ep with commentary one of these days. I'd be interested to know if Superstar, and how Buffy was the first to notice something wonky going on, influenced Real Me and how "only recently" Buffy started acting out against Dawn.
Good stuff. And surprisingly light-handed for a Fury episode.
Now to try to be productive. This would be eaiser if I were a puppet.
So... yeah. You know, I'm ready for this to be over. I really am. The coughing was more or less done and the throat was finally feeling something like better! Now I can't breathe through my nose and I don't have any chapstick handy. Also cold medicine doesn't seem to be working. Grumble grumble.
I shall now proceed to be the Amazing Non-Sequitur Girl by talking about Real Me, which I watched with the folks last night. I liked the ep when it first aired, which I know puts me in a minority because there were many who jumped on the we-hate-
I should watch the ep with commentary one of these days. I'd be interested to know if Superstar, and how Buffy was the first to notice something wonky going on, influenced Real Me and how "only recently" Buffy started acting out against Dawn.
Good stuff. And surprisingly light-handed for a Fury episode.
Now to try to be productive. This would be eaiser if I were a puppet.